APAI Gear Available Now for a Limited Time!

Ashley Koonce, Executive Director • 936-344-1377
2025 Annual Training Conference • May 2025 • Atlanta, GA

Association of Paroling Authorities International

The recognized voice for the highest professional standards of responsible parole practices.

APAI Structure

Committee Information

APAI’s operational body consists of an Executive Committee which includes the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, U.S Regional and International Vice Presidents. The President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected; all remaining positions are appointed.

Executive Committee

President Jonathan Ogletree Chair, Kansas Prisoner Review Board Topeka, Kansas
Vice President Kecia Rongen Chair, Washington Indeterminate Sentence Review Board Olympia, Washington
Treasurer Laura Pisaturo Chair, Rhode Island Parole Board Cranston, Rhode Island
Secretary Francis Abbott Executive Director, Louisiana Board of Pardons & Committee on Parole Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Immediate Past President David Blumberg Chair, Maryland Parole Commission Baltimore, Maryland

Regional Vice Presidents

Northeastern USA Mary Jane Ainsworth Vermont
Central USA Scott Widmer Columbus, Ohio
Southern USA Benita Murphy Chairperson, West Virginia Parole Board Charleston, West Virginia
Western USA Jennifer Shaffer Executive Officer, Board of Parole Hearings California
International Sylvie Blanchet Executive Vice-Chairperson, Parole Board of Canada Canada
International Thando Tsetewa Special Advisor to Minister of Justice & Correctional Services, African Correctional Services Gauteng, South Africa
International Martin Jones The Parole Board of England and Wales London, England
International Alistair Spierling Manager, New Zealand Parole Board New Zealand

Northeastern USA — Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Rhode Island, U.S. Parole Commission and all U.S. Military Parole Boards.

Central USA — Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wisconsin.

Southern USA — Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, Virgin Islands and West Virginia.

Western USA — Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.



APAI Committees

Professional Development
To determine and approve all official APAI education.

Jennifer Shaffer, Chair California
David Blumberg Maryland
Jessica Dillard Texas
Carleton Giles Connecticut
Fred Hyun Hawaii
Jeannie Wark Kansas
Kecia Rongen Washington
Martin Jones England and Wales
Jennifer Zamkus Missouri

Crime Victims
To elevate the awareness of crime victims issues in the post conviction processes and to ensure that the professional development opportunities offered, facilitated and supported by the Association contain sufficient content relative to victims and survivors of crime and their role in the parole and reentry process. One of the current assignments of the Victims Committee is to develop a Model Protocol for paroling authorities to ensure victim participation in the parole process.

Libby Hamilton, Chair Texas
Francis Abbott Lousiana
Lorie Brisbin
Jeralita Costa Washington
Martin Jones Europe
Lydia Newlin Minnesota
Shalandra Robertson Georgia
Elizabeth Rothwell Canada
Thando Tsetsewa Africa

To promote and encourage a strong, viable and sustainable membership.

Francis Abbott, Chair Louisiana
Sylvie Blanchet Canada
Matt Degnan Rhode Island
Scott Widmer Ohio
Martin Jones Europe
Benita Murphy West Virginia
Jennifer Shaffer California
Alistair Spierling New Zealand
Thando Tsetsewa Africa

Public Relations/Communications

Francis Abbott, Chair Louisiana
Zane Duncan Tennessee
Steve Hayes Georgia
Kecia Rongen Washington State

To Promote the Use of Best Practices in Parole

Mark Keating, Chair Kansas
Christopher Barnett Georgia
Dan Fetsco Wyoming
Mike Keeler Nevada
Benita Murphy, Chair West Virginia

2024 Annual Training Conference Exhibitors